Skip directly to content

Sustained Pause - MFA Thesis Exhibition

Sustained Pause, 2018 Thesis Exhibition

International Limited-Residency MFA Photography Program, University of Hartford

On View: August 6-11, 2018

Reception: August 10, 6:00-9:00 PM

Gallery Hours: 11:00 AM-5:00 PM Daily

Joseloff Gallery, 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117

Victor Alcantara• Jaclyn Brown• Mat Brutger• Paul Cohen• Alan Huck• Molly Peters Stuart Richardson • Rick Schatzberg• Marshall Scheuttle • Ernesto Solana

Antonis Theodoridis • Alex Christopher Williams

Sustained Pause is a group exhibition presenting the work of twelve photographers, all from the 2018 graduating class of the International Low Residency MFA in Photography at the Hartford Art School-University of Hartford.The exhibition draws together a diverse range of approaches to the medium and its attendant subject matter, collectively demonstrating the abundance of our visual world in its varying states of wonderment, perplexity, and joy. The show will feature an array of portraiture engaged with the complexities of aging, trauma, and interpersonal relationships, along with work that shifts its focus toward the natural world and our sometimes fraught relationship to it. Other artists included in the show move toward photography's boundaries, employing it as a means of extending the formal practices of sculpture and essay-writing. Also on display will be a collection of book publications produced by the artists.

The International Low Residency MFA in Photography at the Hartford Art School - University of Hartford was founded in 2010 as the first graduate art program focused on the intersection of art, documentary practice, and the photo-based book.The faculty includes Director - Robert Lyons, Jorg Colberg, AliceRoseGeorge, AlecSoth, and Michael Vahrenwald. Notable guest artists and critics have included DruDonovan, FelixHoffman, LisaKereszi, HirohKikai, WiebkeLoeper, Ute Mahler, Tod Papageorge, J. John Priola, Michael Schafer, Paul Schiek, Mark Steinmetz, Hannes Wanderer, and Thomas Weski.

For more information, please visit: